Disaster Assistance

State of Tennessee


Federal Disaster Declaration Fact Sheet


May 8, 2021


Today, May 8, 2021, President Joseph R. Biden Jr. granted a Major Disaster Declaration for the State of Tennessee triggering the release of Federal funds to help people and communities recover from Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding that occurred March 25 to April 3, 2021.  Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows: 


Declaration Number:                                                              FEMA-4601-DR 

Incident:                                                                                  Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding                                                    

Incident Period:                                                                     March 25 to April 3, 2021


Federal Coordinating Officer:                                                Myra M. Shird

                                                                                                   National FCO Program 

Individual Assistance (IA):                                                       (Assistance to individuals and households): 

IA-Designated Counties:                                                           Davidson, Williamson, and Wilson Counties.


Public Assistance (PA):                                                            (Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities):


PA-Designated Counties:                                                       Campbell, Cannon, Cheatham, Claiborne, Clay, Davidson, Decatur, Fentress, Grainger, Hardeman, Henderson, Hickman, Jackson, Madison, Maury, McNairy, Moore, Overton, Scott, Smith, Wayne, Williamson, and Wilson 



Hazard Mitigation (HM):                                                          (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards):


HM-Designated Areas:                                                             All areas in the State of Tennessee are eligible for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.


OTHER:                                                                                      Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further assessments.


Individuals in Davidson, Williamson, and Wilson Counties can apply with FEMA the following ways:

  • Apply online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov.  
  • Constituents may call the application phone number at 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585).